Florida Lemon Laws – How the Florida Lemon Law works

Learn how the Florida Lemon Law works as we lead you through the process

  • Conditions or defects that significantly ruin the safety, use or value of a new or demonstrator vehicle
  • Consumers have 24 months from date of receipt to report these conditions or defects to the manufacturer or their authorized service agent – usually the dealer
  • If the manufacturer tries several attempts to rectify the vehicle to warranty and fails, the law indicates that the manufacturer must then buy back the vehicle and provide the purchase price refund or another like vehicle to the consumer
  • Defects from abuse, accident, alternation, modification or neglect by people other than the manufacturer or their authorized service agent are NOT covered
  • Keep records and receipts of all maintenance and repairs done on the vehicle in question
  • Take note of dates vehicle was dropped off for maintenance or repair and when it was picked up
  • Document odometer mileage just prior to and just after any maintenance or repairs were completed
  • Use the Florida Motor Vehicle Defect Notification Form to tell the manufacturer you’re asking for one last opportunity to have your vehicle repaired – this form can only be used if the vehicle has been returned for repair at least three times for the same recurring problem
  • Use the Florida Motor Vehicle Defect Notification Form to tell the manufacturer your vehicle has been in and out of the authorized repair shop for at least one type of repair or more for at least 15 or more collective days
  • If, after following all the steps necessary, the manufacturer fails to give a refund or replacement vehicle, there are two arbitration programs available to consumers – Florida State Certified or Non-Certified
  • Once arbitration is approved, a hearing will be scheduled within 40 days. At the end of the hearing, the arbitration board will rule orally then in writing.
  • If the arbitration board rules in favor of the consumer, then the manufacturer has 40 days in which to comply with their decision (provide either a refund or replacement vehicle, reimburse consumer for all costs incurred with the purchase of the vehicle and costs caused by the conditions/defects which caused the vehicle to be deemed a “lemon”
  • If the arbitration board rules in favor of the manufacturer, the case is dismissed
  • Both consumers and manufacturers have the ability to appeal the arbitration board’s ruling by filing the appeal with the circuit court within 30 days

We recommend visiting the Florida State Attorney General’s website for more detailed information.


Florida Lemon Law Links

Florida Lemon Law

Florida Lemon Law – Statutes

Is my vehicle covered

How the Florida Lemon Law Works

Florida Lemon Law Remedy Calculation Guideline

Florida Recreation Vehicle Lemon Law

Motor Vehicle Defect Notification Form

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Share
Pin
Reddit